Skip to main content

February Faculty Recognition

Thursday, February 25, 2021
faculty recognition banner

Dr. Dawn BowlesDawn E. Bowles, PhD
Assistant Professor in Surgery
Division of Surgical Sciences

Received an award for her research project "Radiation resistance conferred by small proline-rich repeat proteins (SPRRs)" from the NASA Human Research Program.


Dr. Krista Haines
Krista L. Haines, MA, DO

Assistant Professor of Surgery
Division of Trauma, Acute, and Critical Care Surgery

Elected as Chair of the Ethics Committee for the Association of Academic Surgeons.



Dr. Debra SudanDebra L. Sudan, MD
Professor of Surgery
Chief, Division of Abdominal Transplant Surgery

Was the first woman to receive the Master Surgeon Award, an honor bestowed to individuals who embody the ideals of Duke Surgery and whose career will serve as a guidepost for those who follow in the art and science of surgery.


Dr. Kevin Saunders
Kevin O. Saunders, PhD

Associate Professor in Surgery
Division of Surgical Sciences

Featured on WRAL News as a "change maker" in the development of vaccines.