April '22 Faculty Recognition

David Gordon

David Gordon, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery
Division of Emergency Medicine

Awarded the 2022 Duke School of Medicine Master Clinician/Teacher Award, which recognizes clinical practitioners who exemplify. the highest standards of clinical care, pedagogy, and professionalism or to basic scientists who achieve distinction in pedagogy and professionalism.


Stuart Knechtle

Stuart Knechtle, MD
Professor of Surgery
Division of Abdominal Transplant Surgery

Awarded the 2022 Duke School of Medicine Excellence in Professionalism Award. The Excellence in Professionalism Award is presented to those who exemplify professionalism and personifies Duke's guiding principles of respect, trustworthiness, diversity, teamwork, and learning.

Dr. Knecthle will also lead a $16.5 million, 7-year NIH-funded trial to assess new therapies targeting antibody-mediated rejection (AMR) in patients who have undergone kidney transplant. (Read more in Clinical Practice Today).


Carmelo Milano

Carmelo Milano, MD
Professor of Surgery
Division of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery

Awarded the Leonard Palumbo Jr., MD Faculty Achievement Award by the Duke School of Medicine. The award recognizes a member of the School of Medicine faculty who displays dedication to compassionate patient care and excellence in the teaching and mentoring of young physicians.


Wilton Williams

Wilton B. Williams, PhD
Associate Professor in Surgery
Division of Surgical Sciences

Selected to the Whitehead Scholars Program, which helps attract and nurture the most promising biomedical researchers to the faculty at the Duke School of Medicine.