Skip to main content

Duke Surgery Faculty Announced as Duke Health Scholars and Fellows

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Please join the Department of Surgery in congratulating five of our faculty members who were recently named Duke Health Scholars and Fellows by the School of Medicine. Our faculty were among 38 award recipients from clinical departments.

Todd Brennan, MD, and Linda Cendales, MD, were selected as Duke Health Scholars. This inaugural award provides substantial funding to support well-established faculty in their research endeavors. Walter Lee, MD, Todd Purves, MD, PhD, and Jonathan Routh, MD, were selected as Duke Health Fellows. This award provides a research discretionary fund and career mentoring to faculty.

The Duke Health Scholars and Fellows program was created with a transfer of funds from the Duke University Health System. The program aims to enhance the research efforts and academic success of early to mid-career clinician-scientists. Award recipients were nominated by their division chiefs and department chairs and selected through a peer review process. Receipt of these awards recognizes both past achievements and future potential for their continued success as clinician-scientists.

Congratulations again to our faculty members on this important honor.